Cakes

We are currently in the midst of what we call the birthday season in our house. The birthday season starts in May with Mark’s birthday and ends in July with Penelope’s birthday. As a (delicious) result of the birthday season, I have been making cakes to celebrate.

For Mark’s birthday, I wanted to try something a bit different. Mark isn’t a big fan of cake and has always had a lukewarm (at best) reaction to being presented with a birthday cake. He always wants something “lighter” and “healthier” than cake (I know. He’s nuts. Who doesn’t want cake on their birthday? And the richer and more sinful, the better, right?). So this year, I did my best to honour his wishes while still keeping the birthday cake tradition alive. Here is what I did:

First, I baked an angel food cake. Angel food cake is basically the lightest cake in existence. I used a bundt pan and when it was baked and cooled, I then hollowed it out further and filled it with berries. Finally, I frosted it with a super light and fluffy frosting, so it looked just like a normal cake. Mark was surprised and pleased when he cut into the cake and discovered fruit instead. So if you are looking for a healthier and lighter alternative to traditional birthday cake, this is a great solution.

2015-05-11 13.13.08

2015-05-11 14.43.27

2015-05-11 14.53.43

The next cake I made was for Charlotte’s birthday. As I mentioned awhile ago, Charlotte was extremely excited about her birthday and had been thinking about what kind of cake she wanted for months. Given her love for chocolate and for Frozen, I decided to marry the two for her cake.

Once the cake was baked and cooled, I frosted it with a crumb coat and let it set in the fridge overnight. The next day, I lay white fondant on the top and then, using a 1M Wilton tip, covered the sides in blue ombre frosting rosettes. It was tricky to get the frosting the right shades of blue, but after a bit of experimenting, I was pleased with the result.

2015-06-05 13.32.57

2015-06-05 14.12.48

Next, I prepared some white and blue chocolate snowflakes. I found white and blue chocolate wafers at Bulk Barn and melted them. I then drew up the melted chocolate with a syringe and traced a snowflake pattern on parchment paper. It did take some experimenting to get the snowflakes just right. At first, I tried to do it freehand, but that did not work well, so I printed out a snowflake stencil and put it under the parchment paper and traced the pattern. I added a bit of blue crystal sugar to the white snowflakes to make them really pop against the white fondant background. The finishing touch was provided by the Frozen figurines lent to me by my friend, Ingrid, to top the cake. I used all the figurines except for Hans, because he is an asshole who does not deserve to be anywhere near my daughter’s cake. No, I don’t take a kid’s movie too seriously, why do you ask?

2015-06-03 13.34.54

2015-06-06 13.03.46

I loved the look of this cake, with the rosettes and ombre effect. This is a technique I would happily do again and again. You can make your cake look pretty awesome and it is relatively easy. So if you are at all inclined to baking cakes, I highly recommend this method for your next celebration. And if you are not a baker and we are friends, if you ask me nicely, I may do it for you.

Leave a Reply

