Five

Charlotte, today you are five. I don’t know where the time has gone. It seemed like only a minute ago, you were a teeny little baby:

melon1

and now here you are:

IMG_8131

My beautiful girl. You are so much more than simply beautiful, though. If I had to pick one word to describe you today, it would be sweet. You positively ooze kindness and love. You give me more kisses every day than I could possibly count. Sometimes, you get up from the dinner table because you just have to give Penelope hugs and kisses, and you say, “Oooh, I just love you so much, sisty! I just can’t stop loving you!!” And it makes my heart melt every time. You are just the best big sister ever. You are so patient and gentle with your little sister- you have never once shown any resentment towards your sibling who requires so much attention; attention that is diverted from you. Somehow, at your young age, you understand and accept Penelope’s needs effortlessly. You have taught me a lot about the power of unconditional love.

IMG_8397

There is more to you than sweetness, though. You are my multi-faceted girl. You love dresses and T-ball, and combine the two with ease:

IMG_8314

IMG_8322

IMG_8128

You are smart and creative. You have been teaching me all about how the caterpillar makes a chrysallis and emerges as a butterfly. You recently drew this lovely picture…of me in the shower:

IMG_8411

You are independent and determined:

IMG_8328

It wasn’t long ago that you had to be rescued from this bouncy castle because you couldn’t maneuver your way through it, and now you can do it with ease.

You love flowers and enjoy examining all the insects and worms you come across in the garden:

IMG_8173

You are, quite simply, Charlotte. I am so lucky to have you as my daughter. I love you more than I could ever possibly express. Happy birthday, my darling.

Love, Mommy

IMG_7606

2 thoughts on “Five

  1. She is truly the definition of beautiful inside and out. What a young sweetheart she is becoming. You have every right to be super proud of her. May you, Charlotte, have the bestest birthday ever!! Happy birthday Princess! Hugs and Kisses on your special day.

  2. “The love between a Mother and a Daughter is forever” …. and your love for Charlotte always shines through in your wonderful accounts of your daily life. I feel like I am getting to know both your beautiful daughters through your words. Hope Charlotte has a wonderfully fun 5th birthday today. Love, Aunt Barb ♥

Leave a Reply

