Home

We are home. Penelope was discharged from Sick Kids on Saturday, and we are all so happy to have her well again. She has been smiling and playing and is healthy and happy, and it’s fantastic. She has been laughing with her sister and catching up with Daddy. As difficult as last week was, it is worth it to see her doing well now.

As far as how I’m doing- well, I’m somewhat worse for wear. I poured all of myself into getting her better, and I am physically and emotionally drained. I barely slept all week, I wasn’t eating properly, and certainly didn’t get to the gym. And despite having gone to the doctor and being on antibiotics for nearly five days now, my ear infection is only marginally less painful, and I’m still coughing and congested; not to mention completely exhausted. I think it’s going to take some time for me to get back on my feet, too.

I may have paid a price to get my sweet girl well, but when I see that smile on her face, I know I would do it all over again in a heartbeat.

IMG_7851

Enjoying the sunshine with Barbara

Enjoying the sunshine with Barbara

Looks like I have to do something about the fridge magnets

Looks like I have to do something about the fridge magnets

Catching up on some Daddy-daughter time

Catching up on some Daddy-daughter time

Enthralled with her wooden spatula

Enthralled with her wooden spatula

So happy to reunited with her sister

So happy to be reunited with her sister

2 thoughts on “Home

Leave a Reply

