Mobility

SHE DID IT! SHE CAN CRAWL!! I officially have a little mover on my hands. What she lacks in speed and agility, she makes up for in sheer determination. If she sees something she wants, she goes for it. She may topple over a few times; it may take her awhile to get to where she wants to go, but she WILL get there. And she doesn’t get frustrated- she just keeps reaching and wiggling and smiling and squealing until she reaches her goal.

I can’t tell you how happy this makes me. If I had the resources to do it, I would throw a parade in her honour. There were times when I honestly didn’t think this would ever happen- like when she was over a year old and still couldn’t sit up on her own. And her newfound mobility has given me so much hope for her future; hope that someday, she may at least have a quasi-independent life. Obviously, there is still a lot we don’t know about what her abilities will be or what problems she will face in the future, but this accomplishment of hers has quieted my fears and worries for the moment.

I am just so proud of my girl. Watching her as she learned to move has taught me that with enough time, perseverance, patience, and love, anything is possible. I am now reflecting on what dreams and goals I have for myself- dreams that I previously dismissed as unrealistic or impractical don’t seem quite so out of reach anymore. Maybe I can go back to school and further my education one day. Maybe I can get serious about my writing and work toward getting published one day. Maybe these things don’t have to be mere fantasies. If Penelope, despite her physical limitations, can get herself moving, then so can I. I will just have to keep reaching as I inch toward my goal.

I hope everyone can take a page out of Penelope’s book. Don’t give up. Reach for what you want. Pick yourself up when you stumble. Even if your progress is slow and awkward, keep moving forward until your goal is met. And don’t forget to beam with pride at your accomplishment when you are done.

IMG_7714

4 thoughts on “Mobility

  1. Amazing. Absolutely inspiring on all accounts. What a sweet, precious and determined little girl. Maybe you be a ballerina Julie!!! Love to you all.

Leave a Reply

