A New Goal

Several months ago, I wrote about setting a fitness goal for myself: to do a 5k run in May. As it turns out, this is not going to happen… because I have signed up to do a 10k run instead! Yes, at the urging of my colleague and friend, Heather (who has a kick-ass crafting blog that you should check out), I have decided to double the distance and am running in the Sporting Life 10k here in Toronto on Mother’s Day.

This is not because I just love running so much that I absolutely had to run further than I had originally planned- quite the opposite, in fact. I do not enjoy running. At all. After setting the 5k goal for myself, I started running on the treadmill at the gym. At first, it was okay. But within a few weeks, my joints were aching, I was on the verge of hobbling around like an old lady, I’d nearly vomited several times from overdoing my water consumption during the run, and I’d had enough. So I stopped the running regimen, and went back to doing cardio activities I actually enjoyed.

I truly don’t understand people who like running. Why? What is the appeal? It is painful and you can’t breathe and you can’t even take a drink of water without choking or having it slosh around in your stomach. My dad is a runner- he regularly runs 20-30 km. At ONE time. And he loves it! And unlike his penchant for sarcasm, I did not inherit that trait from him.

I know I don’t sound all that enthusiastic about doing this run, but I am actually looking forward to it. Well, I’m looking forward to crossing the finish line, at least. I know I have enough endurance for it- I work out frequently, with plenty of intense cardio activities in my gym routine. And it’s only when I run on a regular basis that my joints get achy, so I think for this isolated event, I will be fine. And I’m running with a bunch of nurses, so if I get injured or have a heart attack, I will be surrounded plenty of health care professionals to help me.

Now, the Sporting Life 10k run raises money to send kids with cancer to camp- that’s a pretty great cause! If you able to, please consider donating to this organization. Click here for the link to my fundraising page for the run. Even a $5 donation is appreciated!

IMG_7663So here I am: the fittest I’ve been in about ten years, and ready to run my ass off. Bring it on, 10k!

5 thoughts on “A New Goal

  1. Pingback: Goal: Met | A Mom of Steel

Leave a Reply

