Get it Together

For the past few weeks (ok, few months), the batteries in Penelope’s Fisher Price Ocean Wonders crib accessory (or Fishyvision, as we call it) have been dying. I keep meaning to replace them but the second I leave her room, I forget all about it until it’s time to put her down again. A couple of weeks ago, I was at the Dollar Store and noticed the battery display, and actually remembered that I needed to buy batteries for Fishyvision. Feeling quite proud of myself, I purchased a couple packs. Which then sat in the car for awhile before I actually got around to bringing them inside. Finally one day, I set about the arduous task that is changing batteries in infant toys. You see, the batteries aren’t hidden away behind a little slot like in a remote control. Oh no, you need a screwdriver to access these batteries. I swear, there are fewer security precautions on the case containing the Hope diamond. Anyway, I managed to detach Fishyvision from the crib, locate a screwdriver, and get the new batteries ready. I popped off the slot to take out the old batteries and:

This requires C batteries.

This requires C batteries.

The batteries I purchased were D batteries.

The batteries I purchased were D batteries.

AAAAAAARRRRRRRRGGGGGGHHHHHHHH! Are you f*#@&ing kidding me?! Fishyvision almost met with an untimely end at that moment.

Some days, I really feel like I don’t have my shit together. At all. I have piles of dirty laundry to be washed. I have piles of clean laundry to be folded. I have piles of folded laundry to be put away. I put off making appointments that I know need to be made. I fantasize about winning the lottery but I cannot get it together enough to buy a damn lottery ticket. That must be the definition of not having your shit together. I literally walk by a convenience store selling lottery tickets FOUR times a day when I drop off and pick Charlotte up at school, but I never think to stop and get a ticket.

Will I ever be a person with a clean, uncluttered house? Will my to-do list ever be less than a foot long? Will I ever make appointments and complete tasks in an efficient and timely manner? I don’t know. And I guess it doesn’t really matter. The house is clean-ish. Appointments get made eventually. Everyone has clean clothes to wear every day, even if some days there is less choice in wardrobe than others. When the tasks pile up and I get that hot ball of guilt in my stomach, thinking about all I have to do, I can just put away some laundry or order some supplies for Penelope and it goes away.

I still haven’t changed the batteries in Fishyvision, though.

Luckily, Penelope still loves her procrastinating mama.

Luckily, Penelope still loves her procrastinating mama.

2 thoughts on “Get it Together

  1. I totally get it. I don’t know what it is about changing batteries, but I every time I put it off and put it off as if it were the worst chore in the world. And my husband even keeps an enormous box of every imaginable battery, right downstairs in the laundry room. I don’t even have to go out and shop for them, and I still can’t manage it.

    • If I won the lottery, I would hire someone to take care of all our household battery changing needs. It’s such an annoying task. Of course, first I will have to get around to buying a lottery ticket.

Leave a Reply

