Cookies

Today marks the fourth anniversary of my mom’s death. Though the acute pain of losing her has dulled somewhat over these past four years, I still feel that pang of loss every day when I think about her. And I do think about her every day. I think about all the happy times we had together and I think about all the things she has missed since she left us. Even now, four years later, I will catch myself thinking, “I have to tell Mom about this,” only to realize that I can’t have a conversation with her anymore. I miss hearing her voice on the end of the phone. But I still try to find ways to feel close to her. One surefire way to achieve this is to bake chocolate chip cookies using her recipe, which is what I will be doing with Charlotte today to honour Mom’s memory. And now, as my gift to all of you, here is her recipe, which makes the BEST chocolate chip cookies in the world.

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup shortening

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2 1/4 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 package semi-sweet chocolate chips

Combine butter and shortening until smooth. Mix in sugars. Add eggs and vanilla and beat well. In a separate bowl, combine flour and baking soda. Gradually add in flour mixture, about 1/2 cup at a time and mix well. Stir in chocolate chips. Drop by spoonful onto cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and bake at 375 degrees F for about 8 minutes, until cookies are brown around the edges. Remove from oven. Let sit on cookie sheet for a minute to firm up, and then let cookies cool on a wire rack.

So please, make these cookies and think about my mom, especially if you were lucky enough to know her personally. She would love that- and given how yummy these cookies are, you won’t regret it.

IMG_7473IMG_7476IMG_7477IMG_7480IMG_7484IMG_7485IMG_7487IMG_7489IMG_7493IMG_7490IMG_7494IMG_7495228083_10150559615145511_1794585_nIMG_7499IMG_7496IMG_7500

Miss you, Mom.

4 thoughts on “Cookies

  1. What a beautiful tribute Julie. I am so glad that you are remembering all the happy times with her and the sorrow is lessening. Hope everyone enjoys your delicious cookies. love, Aunt Gail

Leave a Reply

