Jokes

A couple of days ago, my aunt Barbara texted me with a joke she wanted me to tell Charlotte: Where does a snowman keep his money? In a snow bank! Charlotte thought this was HILARIOUS, though I’m not quite sure she fully got the joke. And ever since, she has been bombarding us with “jokes” of her own:

Where does the snowman keep his head? In the snowman bank!

Where does the hat go to bed? In the chair-head! (No idea)

Where does the snowman put his toys? In the fridger! (Again, no idea, but she was looking at the fridge when she said it, so I’m guessing that’s what she was going for).

Now, it is pretty funny to listen to these “jokes” she comes up with, mostly because of her expression and her laughter as she is telling them. The truth is, though, that these jokes are painfully unfunny and don’t make any sense at all. What’s worse is that she now demands that I tell her funny jokes, and after I tell the one joke I can remember from my childhood (What is a ghost’s favourite fruit? Boo-berries!), I’m out of material, and so I start telling “jokes” that don’t make any sense, either.

Where does the streetcar go to bed? At the bus station!

Where does the baby get the snow? From the snow station!

Terrible, right? But it’s like I’m having an out of body experience, and I just string together the random objects I have in my sight line to form a question and answer. I seriously cannot perform under the pressure. “Tell me a funny joke! Now, Mommy!” She does laugh hysterically at whatever I say, so at least she hasn’t realized just how unfunny her mom is yet.

So please help me- I need some jokes to stash in my mind that I can pull out whenever she asks me. Share any jokes you have that would amuse a four year old. This unfunny mummy would really appreciate it.

Charlotte laughing after she heard the snowman joke

Charlotte laughing after she heard the snowman joke

7 thoughts on “Jokes

  1. What is a snowman’s favourite lunch? An iceberger! What does a gingerbread man put on his bed? A cookie sheet! What kind of ball doesn’t bounce? A snowball! What do you call a snowman in the summer? A puddle! What does Santa say when he gets sick? Oh oh no! What can Santa give away and still keep? A cold! What do you get when you cross a snowman and a shark? Frostbite!

    Can you tell my kids went through this phase too? I have a ton of jokes taped to my fridge because I sent jokes to school in my kids’ lunches, and when they got home my daughter would stick them to the fridge. I, too, got so tired of the jokes that don’t make any sense.

  2. she needs knock knock jokes
    Knock Knock
    Who’s there
    Boo
    Boo Hoo
    Don’t cry it’s just me

    Knock Knock
    Who’s there
    Orange
    Orange Who
    Orange you glad to see me

Leave a Reply

