Baking Success

After Thursday’s peanut butter square fiasco, I had all but given up on making those treats. After getting some advice from my aunt Gail, though, I decided to give it one more try. And I am so glad I did, because I finally succeeded in making an edible batch! My problem with the previous batches had to do with my interpretation of the instructions. The recipe calls for two cups of crushed cornflakes, and so I had been crushing up a bunch of cornflakes and then measuring out two cups. What I should have done is measured out two cups of cornflakes, crushed them, and then add them to the mixture. This makes a huge difference: two cups of cornflakes, crushed, adds up to about 1/4-1/2 cup of crushed cornflakes. No wonder my previous batches were so dense.

I’m so happy with this success that I want to share this recipe with all of you:

Peanut Butter Squares

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup plus 1 tbsp peanut butter

1/2 cup corn syrup

2 cups cornflakes

1 cup Rice Krispies

Crush the cornflakes and set aside. Combine brown sugar and corn syrup on stove over medium heat. Stir until combined. Add peanut butter. Stir until smooth. Remove from heat. Stir in corn flakes and Rice Krispies. Pack tightly into 8 inch pan. Ice with brown sugar icing.

Brown Sugar Icing

2 tbsp butter

4 tbsp cream

1/2 cup brown sugar

Melt butter over medium heat. Add 3 tbsp cream and brown sugar.Combine. Boil vigorously for two minutes. Remove from heat. Beat in 1/2 cup icing sugar. Cool slightly. Add 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/2 cup icing sugar and 1 tbsp cream. Beat until fluffy. Spread over squares. (NOTE: this icing can be finicky- you may need to add another tbsp of cream at the end. As well, these quantities provide sufficient icing to cover the squares, but if you want ample icing, then you could try either doubling or multiplying quantities by 1.5).

Enjoy!

IMG_6516

High off the success of the peanut butter squares, Charlotte and I whipped up a batch of sugar cookies on Sunday. It was messy, but a lot of fun. This is by far the most baking I have done in years, and I am loving it.

Decorating her cookies

Decorating her cookies

Stealing a taste of frosting

Stealing a taste of frosting

The finished product

The finished product

I will probably be sweeping up sprinkles for the next several days, but it was totally worth it.

2 thoughts on “Baking Success

Leave a Reply

