Baking Fail

I have been doing some more baking this Christmas season than I have in the past couple years. I love it- my mom would always do so much baking this time of year, and it makes me feel close to her when I am trying to recreate her delicious treats. For the most part, I have been pretty successful- until yesterday.

My mom gave me a recipe for her peanut butter squares many years ago. Since then, whenever I have tried to make them, they have not turned out once. I blamed the recipe for a long time- obviously, she must have written it down wrong, right? So when I decided to give these squares another try this year, I got a recipe from my aunt, Judy, who is a master baker. I was confident that this time, they would turn out.

WRONG.

Yes, that super sharp knife could not cut through these squares

Yes, that super sharp knife could not cut through these squares

If anyone is doing a home reno and needs bricks, I've got some here for you

If anyone is doing a home reno and needs bricks, I’ve got some here for you

As a reward for my hard work, I got to scrub out all the sticky remnants from this pot

As a reward for my hard work, I got to scrub out all the sticky remnants from this pot

They are basically inedible. They are so dense that I can’t even cut them. I managed to hack off a couple pieces and Mark tried one and almost broke a tooth. I was so frustrated that I almost threw a butcher knife across the room but stopped myself before this turned into even more of a fiasco. I vowed never to make them again, but Mark has convinced me to give it another shot. So I will see if Judy can tell me what I am doing wrong, because I have no idea. I’m no Martha Stewart, but I can follow a recipe, and I can’t understand why I cannot get this to work. Ideally, I would like to be able to produce something that doesn’t requires a hatchet to slice. If I still can’t get it right after getting advice from my aunt, then I will officially give up.

I really hope I can get it right, though, because I am seriously craving these peanut butter squares right now. I am very close to packing the girls into the car and driving up to Pembroke to get some from Judy. And since I will be on my own with the girls for the next several days while Mark is away on his “guys weekend” I could definitely use some treats to help me make it through.

3 thoughts on “Baking Fail

  1. Hi Julie, Send me your phone number by e-mail and and a good time when I can call you about these squares, a favorite here too and maybe I can help you. Gail

  2. Pingback: Baking Success | A Mom of Steel

Leave a Reply

