The Decision

I started my maternity leave on July 5, 2013. When I left, I fully expected to return to work after the leave expired in a year. A lot happened over the course of that year, though, and as the year drew to a close, I knew I was not yet ready to go back. I am very fortunate to have an employer that was more than willing to accommodate an extension on my leave. Truth be told, I wasn’t sure if I would ever be able to go back.

There have been a lot of ups and downs in the five months since I extended my leave. Penelope had her G-tube inserted, and is really turning into a sweet and happy baby. She is now at a point where I feel like I can leave her to go back to work. I miss my job, and I know I have a lot to offer as a nurse after everything we have dealt with since Penelope’s birth. I looked into many different daycare options and chose an arrangement that I feel will work best for Penelope and our family right now. I will return to my part-time position in pediatrics on January 5, 2015 (exactly 18 months after I started my maternity leave) and we will have a nanny here part-time to care for Penelope. I regretfully had to leave my position in the Genetics department because juggling two jobs is just not feasible right now.

I am excited and nervous about this upcoming change in our lives. I hope I have made the right decision. I am vowing to be flexible about it- if it doesn’t seem like it’s working out for any reason, I will re-evaluate the situation and find a different solution.

Over these next few weeks I will be soaking up my last moments on leave. I will prepare for this change as best I can. Oh, and I guess I should start digging out those scrubs I have packed away…somewhere. It may take me a good chunk of my remaining time off to find them, because of course, I did not label the box they are in, thinking, “I will totally remember where I put them!” I never learn, do I?

Big changes ahead, but she doesn't seem too worried about it

Big changes ahead, but she doesn’t seem too worried about it

2 thoughts on “The Decision

  1. Hi Julie, Congratulations on making a wise but very hard decision. You have been a non stop Mom for the last 18 months to all of Penelope’s needs and have brought her a long way to the point where she will be A-Okay with the nanny. You also need this time to change your scenery a little too and work will certainly do that. I’m very proud of you with all that you have been through and admire your attitude towards the ups and downs. Good luck with this ” back to work” decision and enjoy the time over the next few weeks. Hope this doesn’t mean you’ll stop your interesting blogs!! Merry Christmas Mom of Steel!!

    • Thank you, Gail! It feels like this is the right decision, and the only way to know for sure is to try it out. And not to worry, I will definitely keep up with the blogging- I really enjoy it. Merry Christmas to you and all your crew!

Leave a Reply

