The Christmas Photo

Apparently, Albert Einstein once said that the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. According to that diagnostic criteria, I must be insane. Every year for the past three years, I have decided to take a family Christmas picture for our Christmas cards here at home instead of going to a professional photographer. And every year, it is a disaster. A complete and utter shitshow.

I thought I had learned my lesson last year, when it took seventy takes (yes, that’s right, SEVENTY) to get a photo worthy of putting on a Christmas card.

Charlotte didn't mind the endless photo-taking

Charlotte didn’t mind the endless photo-taking

Barkley was also enjoying himself

Barkley was also enjoying himself

Penelope was crying- photo not quite good enough then!

Penelope was crying- photo not quite good enough then!

And finally, we had a winner!

And finally, we had a winner!

But then this year, the Christmas season seemed to come up rather quickly, and with me not back at work yet, I didn’t really want to shell out the money for a professional photographer, and so I prepared for another at-home Christmas photography shoot. I picked a setting (in front of the Christmas tree) and fiddled around with the camera to get it at the right height and angle. I had everything prepared so that all Mark would have to do is get dressed and pose for the picture. And this is where I make my mistake every year. Mark is incredibly picky about photography, and never likes the photos I take. So, after all that work, and getting myself and the girls ready, Mark comes along and wants to redo everything. He didn’t like being in front of the Christmas tree, so a lot of time was spent trying to figure out an alternate setting (and of course, nothing else worked, and we ended up taking the photo in front of the tree anyway). He didn’t like the angle of the camera and had to adjust that. And then he couldn’t get the camera to actually take a picture, so I had to fiddle with it again to get it going. Eventually, we did get a mostly decent photo (I think my exact words were, “For the love of God, it’s good enough!”) after about a dozen takes- there was NO WAY I was going to sit through another seventy attempts to obtain the perfect photo.

Charlotte poses for a test shot

Charlotte poses for a test shot

I quickly lost patience with this activity. I think the look on my face says it all.

I quickly lost patience with this activity. I think the look on my face says it all.

Aaaannnddd good enough!

Aaaannnddd good enough!

So it’s not quite the beautiful photo I had envisioned- my arm looks kinda weird and there’s the bookshelf in the background and Penelope is not looking at the camera, but it’s not bad. One thing is for sure, though- next year, we will definitely be going to a professional to get this photo done. Seriously, it’s in writing now, I will not go through this again. Although…maybe if I tried setting it up in the basement next year- there’s a lot more space down there, I might be able to make it work…ok, yes, it’s official, I am insane.

3 thoughts on “The Christmas Photo

Leave a Reply

