Winter Wonderland

Well, I guess this is it. Winter is here. I suppose it doesn’t officially arrive for over a month, but it is here nonetheless. There is blanket of snow covering the trees, lawns, and homes in our neighbourhood. There is a mountain of winter gear that has taken up residence in our living room. Winter is not my favourite season, so I know I may sound a bit unenthusiastic about this. I mean, yes, it’s beautiful, but it would be more picturesque if there weren’t still leaves on the trees and Halloween decorations on some houses.

I am trying to pump myself up for the season, though. After all, the pre-Christmas winter is the best part of winter, before everything turns dull and gray and we have wind chills of -30C on a regular basis. I will drag out the Christmas decorations this week, and I’m sure that will have an uplifting effect on my attitude toward the snow.

I am thinking that I will have to get Charlotte to practice putting on her winter gear. It took about 20 minutes for her to get her snowpants, coat, hat, mitts, scarf, and boots on this morning. I purposely had her start to get ready early, because I knew it would be time-consuming, but wow. By the time she finally was dressed to go outside, I was ready to buy a one-way ticket to California so that I wouldn’t have to face this every day.

IMG_6008

I suppose there are a few reasons to be happy about winter’s arrival. It means I can do some Christmas baking- there is gingerbread and fudge and peanut butter balls and shortbread to be made. There’s the Beaches Santa Claus parade happening this coming Sunday, which is a fantastic alternative to the crowded downtown parade. There’s cozy sweaters and hot chocolate with Baileys in it. There’s Christmas specials and movies to be watched and, of course, singing along to Mariah Carey’s “All I Want for Christmas” at every opportunity.

I do love dressing Penelope in adorable sweaters

I do love dressing Penelope in adorable sweaters

All right, I guess I will hold off on booking a flight down south for now. But someone better bring me some Baileys and Christmas cookies, STAT!

2 thoughts on “Winter Wonderland

  1. Julie , I wish you lived closer. Mike just came back from the States and bought me a big bottle of Baileys which he delivered last night. Heather and I just had coffee and Baileys this morning and would have loved to have had your company.

Leave a Reply

