Catch Up

Since I haven’t been feeling the greatest this week, I had to let some things slide around the house- mainly laundry. I took two days off from laundry duty, and this is the result:

IMG_5811

Two days! That’s it! How does that even happen?? Clearly, someone must have broken into our house, worn all our clothes and put them in the laundry hamper. That’s the only logical explanation. Ugh. So the better part of my day yesterday was spent catching up on all the sorting, washing, and folding of piles upon piles of clothes. I still haven’t got around to putting it all away yet.

Another portion of my day yesterday was spent preparing a kid-friendly meatloaf for dinner. For my birthday this past year, Mark and the girls got me Jessica Seinfeld’s cookbook and some measuring cups (yes, you read that right- for my BIRTHDAY I received a COOKBOOK and kitchen utensils. Maybe for Christmas I will get that new mop I’ve had my eye on) and so I was making up the meatloaf recipe for Charlotte to try. I thought it was actually quite tasty, but when Charlotte saw it on her plate and I told her she had to eat it, the look on her face suggested that I just told her she had to eat a spider. Is there anything as rewarding as making the effort to prepare a healthy and delicious meal for your child, and when they take a bite, they wrinkle up their nose and say, “That tastes like poop.”

She did end up eating it all, so I think her objection to the meatloaf stemmed not from the taste of it but from the fact that I had dared to serve her something she had never had before. It’s a good thing I didn’t sign up for this parenting gig for the thanks I would receive. Later, however, when I saw her and Penelope in their matching pajamas, some of the sting was taken out the whole dinner experience because they are just so damn cute.

IMG_5824

 

I mean, really, how could I stay annoyed after seeing this?

4 thoughts on “Catch Up

  1. Hahahaha – my husband long ago told me about the time he gave his mother laundry baskets for Mother’s Day. I put the fear of God into him lest he ever think of giving me something like that for a gift-giving event. Of course, now every birthday and Christmas he asks me what color laundry baskets I want.

    Fun post. Hope the laundry clears up soon. 🙂
    -Amy at http://www.momgoeson.wordpress.com

    • Hahaha laundry baskets are NOT appropriate for gift-giving! Mark meant well with the cookbook, and I have to admit, it’s been fun trying out some of the recipes, but still- don’t give your wife a cookbook for her birthday!

  2. Try making the meatloaf in muffin pans. Make a little face with the ketchup before you put it in front of her. Not that I have ever done this but looked cute on the web. If I was closer I would iron for you. I love to iron.

    • I love that idea about cooking the meatloaf in a muffin pan! It would be the perfect serving size. I wish you were closer for many reasons, none of which include having you iron for me 🙂 Barbara is coming for a visit at the end of the month- I will leave all my ironing for her, haha!

Leave a comment