Monsterbash

Every year, Charlotte’s school hosts a Halloween event called Monsterbash. It’s open to everyone in the community. In years past, we have noticed the signs advertising the event but have never gone. This year, however, Charlotte has been talking about Monsterbash for a couple weeks, so I knew we would be attending the party on Saturday. Part of the festivities include a bake sale, so I decided to bake up some cupcakes for the school to sell, since volunteering to help out at the event wasn’t really feasible.

So on Friday evening, after I had got the girls bathed, fed, and in bed (Mark had taken to his sickbed around 6:30pm, so the evening routine was on me. To his credit, though, that was the last I heard about how his Man Cold was making him feel so terrible) and I broke out my baking supplies. I made chocolate cupcakes with vanilla buttercream frosting, and accentuated them with a jack-o-lantern marshmallow Peep. I briefly flirted with the idea of making the icing green but it was 8:30pm (close to my usual bedtime) and I still had laundry to fold, so vanilla buttercream it was! I was quite happy with the way they turned out, and apparently they were a hit at the bake sale- the event started at 4pm, and we arrived around 5pm, at which point there were only 3 cupcakes left out of the 24 I had made. So either people liked them, or a bunch fell on the floor and they had to throw them out. I’m choosing to believe that people liked them.

Mmmm, cupcakes!

Mmmm, cupcakes!

Now, all week long, Charlotte had been counting down the days to Monsterbash. All day on Saturday, she kept asking when it would be time to put her costume on. She had been wearing her costume fairly often since a friend gave it to us back in September, practicing how to put it on and refining her dragon “ROAR!” Finally, the time came for her to get ready on Saturday afternoon, and she pulled that costume on- and it was like I had flipped a switch. She went from being excited and happy to quiet and morose. I asked her what was wrong, and all she would say was, in a voice that was barely loud enough to qualify as a whisper, “Oh…well, Mommy…I’m just tired.” Which was total BS, since not thirty seconds ago she had been jumping around and singing. I tried getting her to smile for some photos- no dice. Even seeing Penelope in her costume barely did anything to cheer her up. Finally, I dragged it out of her that the hood of the costume felt too tight, so I unzipped a bit. This helped with her mood, but it wasn’t a perfect solution, because she preferred to have it zipped up all the way.

Quiet dragon

Quiet dragon

This was the happiest face I could coax out of her

This was the happiest face I could coax out of her

A bit happier posing with Penelope

A bit happier posing with Penelope

Cutest flower ever!!

Cutest flower ever!!

Seriously, how adorable does she look?!

Seriously, how adorable does she look?!

Anyhow, with a slightly subdued dragon and adorable little flower, we headed out to the bash. When we got there, they were just about to perform the Monster Mash, which Charlotte has been practicing for weeks. We could not convince her to join in, though, and I couldn’t really blame her for that- the gym was packed with kids, and even some adults, in costumes; it was really hot, and a bit overwhelming. Once the Monster Mash was finished, we wandered around the gym. We had an awesome family Halloween picture taken, we had some food, and then we went over to the Haunted House. Charlotte wanted to go through, so Mark took her in. BIG mistake. She came out sobbing and clutching her dad. “I never want to see those skeletons again!” The Haunted House was definitely meant for older kids.

Traumatized after the Haunted House

Traumatized after the Haunted House

We distracted her with some candy (parents of the year, here, right?) and then we checked out some of the other exhibits, which were more age-appropriate. She made a little craft and played a game, and we decided to call it a night. It is worth noting that we had been at this party for about two hours- Penelope was in the carrier and in her costume the whole time, and didn’t cry once. This was fantastic- at events like this in the past, poor little Penelope usually ends up crying for an extended period of time, and I wind up very stressed, so I was super happy about this.

So we got home and it was time for bed. Charlotte announced that she’d had a great day. And she was right- it was a wonderful day. Though I don’t think we will return to the Haunted House portion of Monsterbash again for a few more years.

3 thoughts on “Monsterbash

  1. Don’t feel bad, Charlotte. A few years ago I went through a Haunted House and the organizers had to lead me out because I was sobbing hysterically. I don’t do scary very well. My children still laugh about it to this day!!! 😛

  2. Great little story Julie. Smiling all while I was reading it and the pics of the girls are adorable. So good for the heart to hear about a fun positive time with your family. Happy memories are built on this.

Leave a Reply

