The Kitchen Sink

For about a year, the faucet in our kitchen dripped water. It was courtesy of the hot water tap, so we got in the habit of turning off the hot water at the sink whenever it wasn’t in use. This was a bit of a pain in the ass, but at least we weren’t having to constantly listen to the “drip…drip…drip” that we would otherwise. By the time summer came around, I was getting tired of this temporary fix, so I suggested to Mark that maybe we should call a plumber about it- a suggestion that was met with total silence, which I interpreted to mean, “No, I am not going to pay a plumber to fix this, I will figure out a way to fix it eventually.”

So time went on, the hot water continued to drip relentlessly, and a couple weeks ago, the cold water also started dripping. The situation was coming to a head, and something needed to be done. On Sunday morning, Mark woke up, inspired. He took Charlotte to the hardware store and they picked out a new faucet. They came home and he watched a couple YouTube videos that demonstrated what to do, and he set to work.

Mark and his assistant

Mark and his assistant

Now, I have to admit, I had misgivings about this. A few years ago, the faucet in our bathtub was dripping, and while I was at work one day, he decided to fix it. Since I wasn’t there, I don’t know exactly what happened, but an emergency plumber needed to be called and the shower ended up being replaced.

Mark has come a long way with his home improvement skills since then. He has put together complicated pieces of furniture, hung shelves, designed and built an extension to our deck, and fixed our bed when it broke (get your minds out the gutter, people- it broke because it was a shoddy frame and collapsed when no one was even sitting on it). So I remained supportive of his quest to fix the kitchen sink, even though inside I had my doubts.

The repair job was going very well until Mark discovered that the faucet he bought was too big to fit in the holes that had been cut into the countertop for the original faucet. Now, if it were me, I would have taken the taps back and purchased a smaller set that would fit. But Mark’s assessment of the situation was that it would be easier to make the holes bigger so that the faucet he had bought would fit (an assessment that I found hard to understand at the time). So back he went to the hardware store and he got the boring drill attachment he needed to enlarge the holes. And then it was time for some more YouTube research on how to use the boring bit- research that paid off when he successfully drilled a larger hole and fit the faucet onto the countertop.

It wasn’t too long afterwards that the job was completed, and we both held our breath as we turned on the taps for the first time. Success! The water flowed beautifully, and when we turned it off, there was no dripping. And now we have a lovely new faucet in our kitchen, with an extendable nozzle and built-in soap dispenser.

Charlotte showing off the new taps that Daddy installed

Charlotte showing off the new taps that Daddy installed

I was extremely impressed that Mark did this all on his own. My misgivings were misplaced. And now that he has proven himself more than capable of accomplishing these home repairs, I may have to come up with some more projects for him to do.

2 thoughts on “The Kitchen Sink

  1. I didn’t know that Mark even owned a drill. So this feat is more than impressive. I look forward to hearing more about this honey-to-do list Julie 🙂 Like Mark, I have quite a list of my own to accomplish. A beer in hand is of course required.

Leave a Reply

