Acts of Kindness

Last week was a busy, and, at times, stressful week. But we all made it through in one piece and things are much calmer around here this week. So far, anyway. One of the things that helped me get through that busy week was being on the receiving end of two acts of kindness. Two packages arrived in the mail last week, containing thoughtful items for the girls.

The first came from Paula. I’m not 100% clear on the family tree, but I believe Paula is my mom’s cousin, and we have kept in touch after Mom died. Last week, out of the blue, she sent this in the mail:

IMG_4861

How sweet is that? Those little letter figurines are adorable, and the books are perfect for Charlotte. I have probably read that Frozen book about twenty times now, at Charlotte’s request. Soon, she won’t need me to read it to her, as she will have it memorized.

The second package came from my cousin, Abby. She saw this at the store, and knew Charlotte would love it, and when it arrived on Friday, it was a huge hit:

 

IMG_4895

IMG_4896

IMG_4900

Charlotte is WILD about Peppa Pig. Her birthday cake was a Peppa cake, and whenever she watches it, she adopts a British accent, and it’s so cute, I want to die. When Mark blew up the balloon that was in the package, she was hugging it and kissing it and saying, “Oh, Mommy, this is just what I always wanted!”

It was just so comforting to receive these gifts at a time when I felt stressed and anxious. It was a timely reminder that there are so many people who care about me and my family. And the fact that these gifts were sent to us out of the blue- no birthday or other celebratory occasion that calls for gift-giving; it was just because these wonderful people were thinking about us and did something so thoughtful. Paula, whom I haven’t seen in far too long, picked out these special gifts for my girls, at least one of whom she has never met (I believe she briefly met Charlotte at my mom’s funeral). Abby, who is 35 weeks pregnant, on bedrest, with two little kids of her own, took the time out of her busy life to do something so nice. I was so touched by this that it brought me to tears.  These acts of kindness made a tough week easier to deal with. So, thank you, so much, both of you- it meant so much.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Acts of Kindness

  1. Julie! I am so happy that this package arrived in a busy week! I’ve had the letters for a while and bought the books the day I sent the package. Funny how it came together.
    Russ (hubby) is first cousin to Liz on Liz’s mom’s side (Audrey). Your mom was Liz’s first cousin on her dad’s side (Murray and Don are brothers). So your mom and I would kid that we were cousins of cousins. It was a friendship that felt like family as we knew so many family members.
    You are a wonderful mom ~ wishing you smoother weeks ahead and happy family times. 🙂

Leave a Reply

