Decisions, Decisions

First of all, let me start by saying that today is going much better than yesterday (knock on wood). There have been NO tears- not from Charlotte, not from Penelope, and not from me. I think this may actually be the longest our household has been tear-free since June 1, 2010. This was the scene in our house this morning before school:

How can you go wrong when you start the day like this?

How can you go wrong when you start the day like this?

After dropping Charlotte off at school, I actually got a lot accomplished. I baked chocolate chip cookies and made some crab dip (some of Mark’s colleagues are coming over for drinks and snacks after work today). Penelope and I played. Laundry was done and the kitchen was clean. Penelope had her formula and was awake and alert all morning. It felt great, and I felt much more in control of the day than I did yesterday.

All that being said, there are a couple of things that I am struggling with. The first thing is Penelope’s poop problem (if you are at all squeamish, I suggest you stop reading now. I mean, I don’t find it repulsive, because my experiences as a nurse and as a mom seem to have made me immune to getting grossed out by things, but I know that there are people out there who find discussions about poop to be rather off-putting). Anyway, poor little Penelope has been having watery, greenish, foul-smelling stool off and on for about a week now. This has also resulted in another bad diaper rash, much to my dismay. On Wednesday, it seemed to be coming to an end- only a couple of poopy diapers that day, and the rash was clearing up, too. Yesterday, though, the poop storm came back full force. I was constantly changing her, and no diaper could hold in this watery stool, so her clothes, her bedding, her play mat, her high chair- everything was getting covered in watery, greenish poop. It has continued in this fashion today. She is on her second (or is it third? I’ve lost track) change of clothes. I am trying to decide whether or not to call her doctor and get her seen. I’m leaning towards letting it just run its course for now. She is otherwise well- no fever, no lethargy, no signs of dehydration; she’s alert and interactive and happy.

She certainly appears happy and well!

She certainly appears happy and well!

So I don’t really see the value of dragging her to the doctor, only to be told that she’s fine, and that whatever this is, it will clear up on its own soon. But of course, there is that worried little voice inside my head, saying, what if it’s serious? What if it’s a sign of an absorption problem? What if she’s developed an allergy to her hypoallergenic formula? What if, what if, what if?

My instincts are telling me to ignore that voice for now. She really does seem fine otherwise. If it continues into next week, well, maybe then it will warrant getting checked out. I hope I’m making the right decision.

Doesn't she seem fine to you?

Doesn’t she seem fine to you?

The other decision that has to be made is about whether or not to keep Charlotte at school for lunch. I’ve been bringing her home this first week to help ease the transition, and because I thought it would be nice to have her home for lunch. I would be able to see how she is doing, find out how her day is going, and I could make sure she ate a good lunch. God knows how much (or how little) she will eat if she is at school for lunch. But it is a lot of going back and forth to the school. And when she is in a mood like she was yesterday, it makes it quite difficult. There seems to be a lot of kids staying at the school for lunch, so it’s not like she would be the only one there. Mainly, I’m worried that it will be too long of a day for her and that she won’t eat her lunch without me there to encourage her. Really, though, 8:30-3:30 is not that long of a day- many kids who are younger than her are in daycare for longer hours than that. And if she’s hungry, she will eat, especially if the other kids around her are eating their lunches.

So I’m thinking that I will keep her at school on Monday for lunch and see how it goes. Nothing is set in stone, right? If it doesn’t seem to be working out, I can always start bringing her home again.

So many decisions to be made when you are a parent. And decision making isn’t exactly my strong suit. It can take me an hour just to decide what to watch on Netflix. I hope that I’ve made the right choices here- I guess I will just have to wait and see.

3 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions

  1. I like poop stories. Not really, but I find it astonishing how much information poop can give. Dogs, cats, horses, kids. I know how I would treat that poop in my pets, but I’m pretty sure not the same in wee babies.
    I’m happy Charlotte is happy at school. I know that I was SO JEALOUS of the kids that got to go home for lunch and get served yummy kraft dinner, or anything other then a sandwich for that matter.
    Keep blogging. I love it!

  2. Pingback: Alone | A Mom of Steel

Leave a Reply

