Excuse me?!

IMG_4675

Today is Charlotte’s first official day of junior kindergarten. I picked her up at lunchtime, eager to hear about all the things she did this morning. The following conversation ensued:

Me: “Charlotte, how was your morning?”

C: “Good.” Hmm, okay, that doesn’t tell me much.

Me: “What did you do?”

C: “I don’t know.” Walked right into that one, didn’t I?

Me: “Well, what games did you play?”

C: “We didn’t play games.” Really? You didn’t play games on your first morning of junior kindergarten? I’m not buying it.

Me: “What about songs? What songs did you sing?”

C: “We didn’t sing any songs.” Riiiiiggggghhhhhttt. No games, no songs. Mommy’s frustration is growing. I force myself to remain patient. She is wearing a name tag, so maybe asking about that will yield some answers.

Me: “Who helped you make that name tag?”

C: “No one.” Excuse me?! You are four years old, not fourteen. Why are you giving me these BS non-answers to my perfectly valid questions??!!

Me: “Well, I know you didn’t just sit in your classroom and do nothing all morning, so why don’t you tell me what you did?’

C: “I already told you, we did nothing!” ARRRRGGGHHHH! I pull out my hair and run away screaming.

"Come ON, Mommy, we don't want to be late!" For someone who was so excited about school, she sure wasn't too forthcoming with what she did there

“Come ON, Mommy, we don’t want to be late!” For someone who was so excited about school, she sure wasn’t too forthcoming with what she did there

Eventually, I got it out of her that her friend Vera came to visit (it was her day for orientation today), that some kids weren’t listening to the teacher, a friend (she didn’t know the name but I’m assuming it was the ECE assistant) made her the name tag, and they sang Ring Around the Rosy. I’m sure more stories about her day will come out this evening, too. Please tell me that I’m not the only one whose kid provides evasive answers when asked about their day. If this continues, I think my hair will be entirely grey before she hits senior kindergarten.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Excuse me?!

  1. Pingback: Opposite Day | A Mom of Steel

Leave a Reply

