Routine

Ahh, summer. Warm days, playing outside, swimming, relaxing- what’s not to love? And while I absolutely adore summer, there is an aspect to it that I’m not crazy about: the complete and total destruction of any routine in our household.

When you have small children, and a spouse who is a teacher, the “vacation mode” feel to summer is magnified times a thousand. Mark stays up late and sleeps in. Charlotte constantly asks, “Who are we going to see today?” Penelope’s nap schedule is completely shot to shit. Mark takes advantage of his time off and takes Charlotte to tons of fun places, like the zoo, the farm at Archibald Orchards, and the CNE. And it’s wonderful- they both have a fantastic time, but it means later bedtimes and toast for dinner on occasion.

IMG_4573

At the zoo

 

Beautiful butterfly at Buskerfest

Beautiful butterfly at Buskerfest

At the CNE

At the CNE

With Mark being off, I have found time to go the gym, but I seem to have sacrificed my writing time. Whenever Penelope and I come along on these adventures, her naptime and/ or her feeding schedule gets messed up, and she ends up crying and unhappy. Then we get home, and I’m exhausted and the laundry isn’t done and the dishwasher isn’t unloaded and it’s all too much. I am officially experiencing summer overload.

Out for a walk on Queen St, about ten minutes before she started crying and didn't stop for an hour and a half

Out for a walk on Queen St, about ten minutes before she started crying and didn’t stop for an hour and a half

Whenever I envisioned how I would feel when Charlotte headed off to kindergarten, I assumed I would feel sad that my baby was no longer, well, a baby. This could not be farther from reality. I am DYING for school to start and to get things back to normal around here.

As a kid/ teenager/ young adult, I hated routine. It was so boring. I wanted spontaneity and excitement and the opportunity to lounge in the sun all day. Now, I am CRAVING routine. I love getting up in the morning and knowing, more or less, what the day will bring. I love having a schedule. Before school let out, I had Penelope on a wonderful, predictable schedule. Now, every day is different. Some days she has one nap, some days it’s two, some days (the hardest days) it’s none. And I can’t stand it. I’m really hoping that within a couple weeks of school starting she will have a schedule once again. And I will have my sanity back.

One thought on “Routine

  1. I have missed your blogs, so I will also be glad when you are back to routine. Penelope and you just hang in there the countdown is on.

Leave a Reply

