Birthday wish

So, I’d like to apologize for not posting anything in over a week. The past couple of weeks have been pretty busy around here, and I will update on all of that (hopefully) later this week. I am discovering that writing a blog is a lot like going to the gym- once you get out of the habit, it’s hard, and a bit scary, to get back into it.

On Wednesday, I will turn 33. I am at the age now where I can never actually remember how old I am. Whenever anyone asks me my age, I have to stop and do the math. Even then, I still sometimes get it wrong. As a kid, you keep track of EXACTLY how old you are. “I’m not six, I’m six and A HALF!” Now, 32, 33, 34- it all feels the same.

Mark asked me the other day what I wanted for my birthday, and I didn’t really have an answer. I’ve had some time to think about it now, and I’ve come up with something. It’s pretty extravagant though, and I feel a bit guilty for even thinking about it. What I would like for my birthday is 24-48 hours of solitude. I know, it’s crazy! It’s too much! I can’t ask for that! But, oh God, could you imagine? 24 hours where I didn’t have to speak to anyone or do anything. 24 hours where I could sleep when I want, eat when I want, shower as long as I want without being interrupted, and use the bathroom without a little person in there with me. 24 hours without having to hear any whining or crying. 24 hours with no cooking or cleaning or diapers. This is the stuff parental fantasies are made of.

To be clear, I still want to celebrate my birthday with my family. I wouldn’t miss that for anything. Charlotte especially loves birthdays, and I can’t deny her the opportunity to blow out the candles on my cake (plus, I love cake). 

And maybe it can’t happen right now. But this is a gift idea that will be good at least until Penelope is in kindergarten. And I’m sure I’m not the only parent out there who craves this. So remember, next time you are looking for a gift idea for a parent you know, especially a parent of young children: you can never go wrong by giving the gift of alone time.

6 thoughts on “Birthday wish

  1. Julie – I’d just like to say I’ve been following your blog now for a while and I want to say that you are an excellent writer and express your feelings and situation in such a succinct and relatable way! I applaud your ability to put your vulnerability out there, which is a strength most don’t have including myself, although I’m working on it. Thanks for the inspiration!

      • Yes I imagine it is. Well good on your for keeping your humour, which to me is a very important coping tool I think you’re a wonderful person and everything , though not always fine, will always be within your understanding, capability and love.

  2. p.s. when my boys were little I used to ask for 24 hours of solitude all the time LOL and once in a while I even got it….alone time is precious and always a great gift!

  3. Birthday wish granted!!!! With pleasure…although you can figure out what to do with Mark yourself!! LOL But we’ll take the cute little ones asap. It won’t be long now…

Leave a Reply

